Who is insured by whom?

Social insurance is divided into three branches: health, accident, and pension insurance.

Insurance in each branch is, in most cases, provided by different insurance providers.

The District Health Insurance Funds (Gebietskrankenkassen) are responsible for providing health insurance; the Social Insurance Institution for Farmers (Sozialversicherungsanstalt der Bauern, SVB) provides health, accident, and pension insurance.

In order to provide you with a better overview, we’ve summarised the responsibilities of the individual social insurance providers under the menu item “Insurance providers”.